Expecting Adam, Martha Beck, page 241

There’s a Chinese word that means “soul sister,” and that is the word I would use to address you in my heart.  Listen to me, soul sister: Fate or luck or destiny already put you through hell once.  Please don’t make it worse by condemning yourself.  There is no choice that would have left you feeling no guilt.  …  Life is hard.  We make the best choices we can.  Condemnation, whether it comes from around you or inside you, only robs the world of another dram of compassion.  God knows, we need all the compassion we can get.  If you promise to try to forgive yourself, I’ll try to forgive myself as well.  I think, in my heart of hearts, that there is nothing for either one of us to forgive.

This entry was posted in private. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

