Expecting Adam, Martha Beck, page 289

… the way back to my real environment, the place where my soul was meant to exist, doesn’t lie through any set of codes I will ever find outside of myself.  I have to look inward.  I have to jettison every sorrow, every terror, every misconception, every lie that stands between my conscious mind and what I know in my heart to be true.  Instead of clutching around me all the trappings of a “good” person, a “successful” person, or even a “righteous” person, I have to be exactly what I am, and take the horrible chance that I may be rejected for it.  I can’t get home by cloaking myself in the armor of any system, social, political, or religious.  I have to strip off all that comforting armor and go on naked.

This entry was posted in private. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment